The Bedtime Crying child

When we first moved into the house, my wife and I began to notice strange things almost immediately. We quickly resigned ourselves to the fact that this was going to be another house where we were going to have to deal with the paranormal.

On one of the first nights in that house, I took the kids upstairs to say their prayers and put them to bed while my wife stayed downstairs and finished some last minute housework. Soon she was finished and she sat down in the living room while I went through the kids’ nightly bedtime rituals.

While I was upstairs, I heard my wife say, “What’s the matter?” I didn’t think much of it, as I was busy with the kids. But soon I heard her again. “What’s wrong?”

So, I went to the top of the stairs and called down to her. “Who are you talking to?”

She replied, “One of the kids is sitting at the bottom of the stairs crying. I can hear them. Who’s crying?”

I repsonded that they were all upstairs with me, and all of them were in their beds.

That was the beginning of many unexplained incidents while we lived in that house.

About 2 years after we finally moved out of that house, I received some follow-up information which surprised and intrigued me that directly related to this very story.

On a whim, I decided to go back to that house , and since the present occupants were most likely people who didn’t know me, and I would probably never see again, I worked up the guts to go and risk looking silly and ask them if they had ever experienced anything strange.

I knocked on the door and a man soon opened the door. I told him I realized this might sound a little strange, but I used to live in the house and I was wondering if they had ever experienced anything strange since moving in over a year earlier.

The man looked back over his shoulder to make sure none of his family were listening, and he said, “Let me get my coat.”

After joining me in the crisp evening air, he told me about his wife hearing her voice being called at random times of the day or night.

Then he told me about the crying child.

He told me one evening he and his wife were making dinner and suddenly he heard his daughter, age 12, tumble down the stairs. They ran to the landing and  scooped her up. She was almost hysterical with fright. After taking almost an hour to calm her down, she was finally able to tell them what had happened.

She told them she was playing upstairs and heard the voice of a child crying at the bottom of the stairs, so she rounded the corner to see who was in their house, crying. What she saw was a small blonde boy standing on the stairs crying. And the boy disappeared before her eyes. She was so spooked she passed out and tumbled down the stairs.

At least what my wife heard was verified by someone else.

About mosthauntedman

In 1968, at the age of 7, Andrew Paschen's family began what was to become a lifetime of hauntings. To this day, the hauntings have never stopped. Although his extended family members still have experiences from time to time, his have continued on a regular basis. He may be America's Most Haunted Man.
This entry was posted in Hauntings Continue. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment